19-year-old Burton wins first Xfinity race after coronavirus delay

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Harrison Burton won the Hooters 250 at Homestead-Miami Speedway in Homestead, Florida on Saturday afternoon. Burton won the race in a little more than two hours.

The 19-year-old driver — who is the son of former NASCAR driver Jeff Burton — has won his second career Xfinity Series win. He also won the 2020 Production Alliance Group 300 before the coronavirus pandemic on Sat., Feb. 29, 2020 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif.

NASCAR Xfinity Series driver Harrison Burton celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the Hooters 250
Harrison Burton celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Xfinity Series Hooters 250. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

“I’m so excited, that’s so awesome,” said Burton, who drives the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota. “I gave away the lead in the first restart in the same position and I didn’t really want to do that again. I knew the nine (Gragson) was going to drive in real deep and slide up so I felt good about that. I’m proud of my guys, we worked on this thing so hard every day, every run I should say and made it better and better.

“What a day to get this Dex Imaging Toyota Supra in Victory Lane. They can keep on doubting us and we’re going to keep on coming back. What a race, man. This track is so much fun and really puts it in the drivers hand, especially at the end there. I’m just ready to go again [on Sunday], to be honest with you. I’m ready to get two.”

Burton was able to defeat Austin Cindric and Noah Gragson by .379 seconds. With the win, Burton is now the youngest driver to win at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Cindric finished in second place, while Gragson finished third.

“It was tough,” Gragson said. “The No. 9 guys at JR Motorsports had really great pit stops all day. Restarts were just the biggest struggle. I was really proud of my restarts here last year here, but just couldn’t get them going [on Saturday].

“I thought we were going to be able to come home with the win, running the top. That was so much fun.”

Gragson led a race-high 83 laps, while Ryan Sieg led 27 laps and Ross Chastain led 26. Cindric, Dale Earnhardt Jr., and Burton led multiple laps, while Brandon Jones led one lap.

Several drivers were not able to finish the race. This list includes Chad Finchum, Kyle Weatherman, Vinnie Miller, Brett Moffitt, Stephen Leicht, and Kody Vanderwal.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report. Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.