Published On: Sun, Nov 18th, 2012

Stenhouse Jr wins the NASCAR Nationwide Series Championship

Share This

By Anthony Caruso III
The Capital Sports Report
Owner/Managing Editor/Sr. Writer

For the second straight year, Ricky Stenhouse Jr is the NASCAR Nationwide Series champion.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr

It has become the sixth driver in the NASCAR Nationwide Series to win back-to-back championships. He finished 23 points ahead of second-place Elliott Sadler.

With the win, he joins Sam Ard (1983-84), Larry Pearson (1986-87), Randy Lajoie (1996-97), Dale Earnhardt Jr (1998-99), and Martin Truex Jr (2004-05). This is also Roush Fenway’s fourth NASCAR Nationwide Series championship.

He finished the season with a series-high six wins and 19 top fives. He also had 26 top 10 on the year.

Next Post
Previous Post

About the Author

- Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher for The Capital Sports Report. He has covered local and national events, including numerous Heisman Trophy ceremonies, two Little League World Series, and the Army-Navy college football game.