Latest News

Baylor now has its first Heisman winner, as RG3 wins the award

Follow The Capital Sports Report on

Follow us: @CapSportsReport on Twitter | The Capital Sports Report on Facebook

By Anthony Caruso III

New York City, New York — Robert Griffin III has made history in the Big Apple.

Griffin, who was wearing Superman socks with a cape on it and said they were his lucky socks, became the first Baylor Bears college football player to win the prestigious Heisman Trophy Award. He is the 77th winner of this legendary award.

He was presented the award by Carol Pisano of the Heisman Trophy Trust. The Heisman Trophy Trust annually presents the Heisman Memorial Trophy Award for the Most Outstanding College Football Player each year.

Robert Griffin III and Baylor head coach Art Briles (Getty Images)

Robert Griffin III and Baylor head coach Art Briles (Getty Images)

“This is unbelievably believable,” Griffin said. “It’s unbelievable because in the moment we’re all amazed when great things happen. But it’s believable because great things don’t happen without hard work.”

He received 1,687 votes, including 405 first-place votes, en route to winning the award. He was presented the award at the Best Buy Theater in Times Square on ESPN.

“Everybody associated with Baylor has a reason to celebrate (last night),” Griffin said.

Griffin is the 32nd quarterback to receive the award. And he snaps the back-to-back Heisman winners from the Southeastern Conference, in Mark Ingram and Cam Newton.

The last member of a Texas school to win a Heisman trophy was Ricky Williams in 1998 with the Texas Longhorns. Prior to that, Earl Campbell in 1977 was the last. John David Crow is the only other Texas-related school to win the Heisman Trophy when he won the award in 1957 at Texas A&M.

“It seemed like the script was written perfectly for us to go out and win this award,” Griffin said.

Griffin completed 267 of his 369 passes for 3,998 yards and 36 touchdowns, including only 6 interceptions. In addition, he has rushed for 644 yards on 161 carries with 9 rushing touchdowns. He also had a catch for 15 yards.

He leads the nation with a 192.3 passing efficiency rating, which depending on his final bowl game against the Washington Huskies on December 28th, would break a single-season record in FBS history. He is also the Baylor career leader in many offensive categories by a quarterback.

“Our offense is quarterback friendly without a doubt,” Baylor head coach Art Briles said. “We knew Robert was a complete fit for what we were looking for out of the quarterback position.”

As the winner, he will be attending the Heisman Trophy dinner on Monday night. He is also expected to appear on CBS SportsThe NFL Today this afternoon.

Andrew Luck, the lone representative from last year’s finalists, finished in second place. He finished 280 votes behind Griffin in the final tally, as he received 1,407 points.

“It was so well-deserved by Robert Griffin,” Luck said. “It was very hard to be upset.”

It is the second straight year that Luck finished second in the voting. He finished second to Newton last year.

Luck is the first player to finish in second place in back-to-back years since Colt McCoy. McCoy finished in second place in back-to-back years in 2008 and 2009.

Trent Richardson, Alabama running back, came in third place. He received 978 points. Fellow running back Montee Ball, Wisconsin running back, came in fourth place. He received 348 points.

Taking up the rear was LSU TigersTyrann Mathieu. Mathieu received 327 points.

Any Corrections?. You may contact Anthony at

Follow Anthony: @alcaruso3 on Twitter | Anthony Caruso III on Facebook
Follow us: @CapSportsReport on Twitter | The Capital Sports Report on Facebook


Any Corrections?. You can contact Anthony Caruso III, Publisher at


Follow us: @CapSportsReport on Twitter | The Capital Sports Report on Facebook


©2007-2018 The Capital Sports Report. Please honor copyright! Piracy hurts writers, devalues their works, and puts you and your employer at risk of lawsuits. All original materials contained on this website are protected by the United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcasted without the prior written permission.

About Anthony Caruso III (9044 Articles)
Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher of The Capital Sports Report.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.