Connolly beats Line in the Pro Stock at the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals

By Anthony Caruso III
Posted: September 28th, 2014 at 6:44 pm EST

Pro Stock is the toughest category in drag racing. But the Gray Motorsports team has the magic right now.

The team has won four straight races. Dave Connolly has won the past two, while Shane Gray won the prestigious U.S. Nationals and Jonathan Gray the NHRA Pep Boys Carolina Nationals.

Dave Connolly (Photo by the NHRA)

Dave Connolly (Photo by the NHRA)

Connolly had an 0.017 light and a winning 6.562 elapsed time at 211.53 mph to win the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals. He defeated Jason Line, who cut an 0.031 light to a 6.565 elapsed time at 211.66 mph.

Line was the last winner before this Gray Motorsports dominance. He won three straight races from July 27th at the NHRA Sonoma Nationals through the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals on August 17th.

This was Connolly’s third win on the season. He is trailing Allen Johnson, Line, and Erica Enders-Stevens, who have a Pro Stock season-high 4 wins.

Connolly improved to 21-14 against Line in his career. Line has a 3-2 against Connolly in prior final rounds.

As rumors continue to swirl about Connolly’s future in potentially Top Fuel dragster, he picked up his 26th Pro Stock win. He never trailed in the win.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.