Oregon Ducks’ Marcus Mariota wins the Heisman

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Today has been a good day for Hawai’i. First, Navy head coach Ken Niumatalolo guided his team to a 17-10 win over the Army Black Knights, which he is a perfect 7-0 in these games.

Hours later, Oregon Ducks quarterback Marcus Mariota has won the Heisman Trophy award. He is the first Hawai’i-born player to ever win this award, as well as the first Ducks player to do this, as well.

Marcus Mariota (Getty Images)

Marcus Mariota (Getty Images)

Bill Dockery, the Heisman President, announced Mariota as the winner.

“In Hawaii, if one person is successful the entire state is successful,” Mariota added. “I’m just grateful to be a part of it. I hope this is just the beginning and that a lot of kids back home are inspired to succeed.

“It’s been a journey, but I couldn’t have done it without my boys back home, my family and my teammates. My boys back home were the ones who believed in me. Without them I wouldn’t be standing here today. This isn’t just a one-person deal, there’s a lot of people who have put their heart and their hard work into it.

This is also the fourth straight year that a quarterback has won this prestigious award. Mark Ingram, who won the award in 2009, was the last non-quarterback to win the award.

In the past decade, Reggie Bush was the only other non-quarterback to win it. However, his award was vacated in 2010 after Bush admitted to taking improper benefits as a member of the Southern California Trojans.

This is also one of the biggest wins margins of all-time. Former Georgia Bulldogs running back Frank Sinkwich had the most points possible at 99.69%.

Bush, at the time in 2005, had a 91.77%, while former Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback Troy Smith had a 91.63%

Besides Smith’s 91.6% in the modern era, Mariota is now second with a 90.9%.

“I’m at a loss for words to be honest,” he added.

Mariota went 254 of 372 yards for 3,783 yards. He’s also passed for 38 touchdowns to two interceptions.

In addition, he had the best QBR this season with a 91.9 rating. He was second the past two years to Johnny Manziel in 2012 and Jameis Winston in 2013.

At one time, both Mariota and Manzeil were committed to Oregon. However, Manziel would never play for Oregon.

Mariota even thought the two would be teammates, before Manziel would decide to decommit from Oregon and accept an athletic scholarship from to Texas A&M.

Mariota had 788 first place votes and 2,534 points overall. He also had 74 second place votes and 22 third place votes.

“I’ve always been quiet, always been reserved,” Mariota acknowledged. “I’ve always tended to not use my words when it comes to being a leader. But there are different kinds of leadership styles. Sometimes showing you care about someone is better than just yelling at them. I try to reach people by showing I care.”

Melvin Gordon finished second with 37 first-place votes, then had 432 second place votes, which was the most of any candidate. He also had 275 third-place votes for 1,250 points.

He had 2,336 yards this season on 309 carries. He also had 26 touchdowns, and has already announced his intentions to leave for the NFL Draft after he plays in the Outback Bowl on January 1st.

He was the first Badgers running back since Montee Ball in 2011 to attend the ceremony.

Amari Cooper had 49 first-place votes, which was more than Gordon. He also had 280 second place votes and 316 third-place votes for 1,023 points.

The talented wide receiver has 115 receptions for 1,656 yards and 14 touchdowns. The third-place finish tied Trent Richardson in 2011, who had 978 total points.

Any Corrections?. You can contact Anthony at publisher@thecapitalsportsreport.com.

Follow Anthony: @alcaruso3 on Twitter | Anthony Caruso III on Facebook
Follow us: @CapSportsReport on Twitter | The Capital Sports Report on Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.