College Football Playoff teams announced

The College Football Playoff final version of 2015 has been released. The top four teams after Championship Saturday were the same top four teams that made the College Football Playoff.

The only thing that happened was the Michigan State Spartans jumping the Oklahoma Sooners for the third position. The Spartans defeated the Iowa Hawkeyes in the Big Ten Conference Championship in Indianapolis last night, while the Sooners sat out.

The Clemson Tigers will face the Sooners in one national semi-final in the Capital One Orange Bowl at SunLife Stadium in Miami, Florida on December 31st on ESPN. The Tigers have held the top spot for all six weeks of the rankings.

These two teams played last season in the Russell Athletic Bowl in Orlando, Florida. The then ranked No. 17 ranked Tigers defeated the Sooners 40-6. The Sooners scored just six points in the fourth quarter with a 11-yard run by Alex Ross with the Michael Hunnicutt extra point blocked.

The Tigers scored 40 points in the first three quarters.

Sooners quarterback Trevor Knight, who now the back-up to Baker Mayfield, went 17 of 37 for 103 yards and threw three interceptions.

Deshaun Watson, a sophomore quarterback, was not involved in last year’s game. Cole Stoudt went 26 of 36 for 319 yards and three touchdowns.

The Sooners have defeated every single team that defeated them from last year’s schedule. They will have the chance to defeat the Tigers later this month for the season sweep, as they’ll have 25-days for the motivation factor.

The other national semi-final will be the Alabama Crimson Tide vs. the Michigan State Spartans in the Goodyear Cotton Bowl in AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas on ESPN. They haven’t faced each other since January 1st, 2011.

This is the second straight College Football Playoff between the Southeastern Conference and Big Ten Conference. Last year, the Ohio State Buckeyes shocked the Crimson Tide en route to their College Football Playoff National Championship win over the Oregon Ducks.

The Crimson Tide defeated the Spartans, 49-7, in the Capital One Bowl (now the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl) in 2011. It is the most lopsided Capital One Bowl win in history.

Like the Sooners, the Spartans scored late in this game. The Spartans scored with 5:45 remaining in the game when Keith Nichol hit Bennie Fowler with a 49-yard touchdown to make it 49-6, before Dan Conroy made it 49-7 with the extra point.

The Tide have lost their past two games, both in the Sugar Bowl. They’ve lost 45-31 on January 2nd, 2014 to the Sooners in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

On January 1st, 2015, they lost 42-35 to the Buckeyes.

The Crimson Tide hasn’t played in the Cotton Bowl, which was the Cotton Bowl Classic, since January 1st, 2006. They defeated 13-10 to the Texas Tech Red Raiders under former head coach Mike Shula, who is now the Carolina Panthers offensive coordinator.

The winners will face off in the College Football Playoff National Championship on Monday, January 11th at 8:30 PM EST.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.