Latest News

Burkhart Jr. takes Wally at Atco

Follow The Capital Sports Report on

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Atco, NJ — D.J. Cox Jr. and Matthew Gill were the only two drivers to win at Atco Dragway for the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series. Phil Burkhart Jr. has now made it three different drivers.

Burkhart Jr. defeated Aryan Rochon in the Top Alcohol Funny Cars final round on Saturday night. The Permatex/Follow A Dream pilot won with a 5.773 at 239.78 mph pass.

Rochon went 6.363 at 247.75 mph. Despite the good time, Rochon was shaky going down the track.

It initially looked like Rochon could have gotten close to the center line. However, after the race, Rochon's team began to question whether Burkhart Jr. crossed the line.

If he did, it would be an automatic disqualification and give Rochon the win. However, after some delay, Burkhart Jr. was credited with the win.

This was the second-time in the last two Division 1 races that these two drivers faced each other. Like Burkhart Jr. did in this race, he also defeated Rochon, who was in his fourth career TAFC race at the time.

© 2007-2017 All rights reserved by The Capital Sports Report and its partners. This material may not be re-published, re-broadcasted, re-written or re-distributed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s