Soul, Storm win plenty of awards

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

The Tampa Bay Storm and the Philadelphia Soul are the two best teams in the Arena Football League. They’ll also be facing each other in ArenaBowl XXX on Saturday night at the Wells Fargo Center.

In previously announced awards, Soul offensive lineman Wayne Tribue won the Offensive Lineman of the Year. Soul kicker Adrian Treviño won the Kicker of the Year. The Soul have won the past three Kickers of the Year Awards.

Beau Bell (Photo by the Arena Football League)

Beau Bell (Photo by the Arena Football League)

Soul cornerback Dwayne Hollis won the Defensive Back of the Year.

“It shows the guys that we have,” Soul assistant coach and general manager Phil Bogle said. “It’s a representation of our organization and the players, along with the work that they put in. They put in a lot of tireless work on and off the field to put a great show on the field. That’s why we’re here in the ArenaBowl, because of those players.”

During the award ceremony on Friday afternoon at the Wells Fargo Center, Bogle won the Assistant Coach of the Year.

“It means a lot,” Bogle said of the award. “It means that obviously that I’m doing something right. It means that I’m being recognized by my peers and that I’m on the right path. I’m trying to show the guys the right things to do and the right way to do them. It shows with the guys we bring in. Character guys on and off the field. It’s a great feeling.”

Soul star linebacker Beau Bell also took home two awards. He received the Defensive Player of the Year Award. In addition, he also received the Commissioner’s Award.

“It doesn’t mean anything if I don’t win [the ArenaBowl],” Bell said. “To be honest, it means nothing if we don’t win the championship. Just to get that award [Defensive Player of the Year Award], it shows the fight we had as a defensive unit and the trust that we have in one another.

“It’s unexpected [Commissioner’s Award]. The Commissioner saw that I had leadership skills — and he saw leadership skills in me from when I was in college [UNLV] — along with those that I have now. To be honest, I didn’t think I had leadership skills in college, but it’s very humbling. I did not expect it at all.”

Storm quarterback Randy Hippeard won the Arena Football League’s Offensive Player of the Year Award. He also won the MVP Award.

Storm head coach Ron James received the Marcus-Moss Head Coach of the Year Award.

Any Corrections?. You can contact Anthony at

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Anthony: @alcaruso3 on Twitter | Anthony Caruso III on Facebook
Follow us: @CapSportsReport on Twitter | The Capital Sports Report on Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.