Lucas Oil’s Arana Jr. leads PSM field in Virginia

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

North Dinwiddie, Va. – Lucas Oil TV’s Hector Arana Jr. is the No. 1 qualifier of the inaugural Virginia NHRA Nationals at Virginia Motorsports Park on Saturday. Arana Jr., the Milltown, Indiana native, went 6.795 at 198.15 mph.

Arana Jr. went 6.795 at 198.15 mph on his Buell EBR during his second qualifying pass on Friday to get the No. 1 qualifier.

Lucas Oil TV Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Hector Arana Jr. racing on Saturday in Virginia

Hector Arana Jr. racing on Saturday at the Virginia NHRA Nationals (Photo by the NHRA)

“We are always trying to run faster each round, but we wanted to figure out which direction we needed to go on Sunday,” Arana Jr. said. “Tonight, we will go through all of the data and notes and try to put a winning combination together for tomorrow.”

Screamin’ Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Andrew Hines is the No. 2 qualifier. The Brownsburg, Indiana native went 6.833 at 196.24 mph in his Harley Street Rod.

Victory Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Matt Smith is the No. 3 qualifier. The King, North Carolina native went 6.837 at 193.74 mph.

Hines’ Screamin’ Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Eddie Krawiec is the No. 4 qualifier. The Danville, Indiana native went 6.850 at 195.99 mph in his Harley V-Rod.

Nitro Fish’s LE Tonglet is the No. 5 qualifier. The Metairie, Louisiana native, who is also a firefighter when he’s not racing, went 6.858 at 195.39 mph.

There were five bikes, who did not qualify. Ryan Oehler, the Bloomington, Illinois native, was the No. 17 qualifier with his 6.975 at 190.30 mph pass, who did not make the show. Karen Stoffer, the Gardnerville, Nevada native, went 6.987 at 191.29 mph.

Ron Tornow also did not qualify after his 6.995 at 189.68 mph for the Pittsburgh, Pa native. Team Liberty Racing’s Angelle Sampey also did not qualify after going 7.039 at 191.59 mph.

Andie Rawlings was the 21st qualifier after she went 7.302 at 176.26 for the Kissimmee, Florida native.

PSM Elimination Ladder:
1.      Hector Arana Jr. vs. Kelly Clontz
2.      Andrew Hines vs. Hector Arana
3.      Matt Smith vs. Cory Reed
4.      Eddie Krawiec vs. Mark Paquette
5.      LE Tonglet vs. John Hall
6.      Jerry Savoie vs. Jimmy Underdahl
7.      Scotty Pollacheck vs. Joey Gladstone
8.      Steve Johnson vs. Angie Smith

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.