Latest News

Smith goes 200 mph, gets provisional lead in Pomona

Follow The Capital Sports Report on

Follow us: @CapSportsReport on Twitter | The Capital Sports Report on Facebook

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Denso/Elite Performance Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Matt Smith became the third PSM rider to hit 200 mph. He joined Hector Arana Jr., who became the first to do it in March.

Eddie Krawiec also has reached 200 mph. However, that was during a test session in 2012, but that South Georgia Motorsports Park pass does not count, because it did not happen in an NHRA sanctioning competition event.

Denso/Elite Performance Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Matt Smith racing on Friday at the Auto Club NHRA Finals

Matt Smith racing on Friday at the Auto Club NHRA Finals (Photo by the NHRA)

Smith set a track record speed as he went 6.774 at 200.65 mph. The points leader extended his lead by being the quickest driver of both qualifying sessions.

“All in all, it was a good day for us,” Smith said. “We made two passes and were No. 1 for both runs. I got eight bonus points. We just have to go and win the race now and win the championship; no matter what anybody else tell us.”

Arana Jr., the rider of the Lucas Oil TV Pro Stock Motorcycle, was the provisional No. 2 qualifier. The East Northport, New York native went 6.824 at 198.96 mph.

Nitro Fish/White Alligator Racing rider LE Tonglet was the provisional No. 3 qualifier. The Metairie, Louisiana native went 6.828 at 196.39 mph.

White Alligator Racing rider Jerry Savoie was the provisional No. 4 qualifier. The Cut Off, Louisiana native — who is likely racing in his final full-time race in his career for the soon-to-be 60-year-old — went 6.846 at 194.74 mph.

Screamin’ Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Eddie Krawiec was the provisional No. 5 qualifier. The Avon, Indiana native went 6.864 at 197.77 mph.

Here’s how the rest of the field panned out:

6. Joey Gladstone, Buell, 6.880, 196.30 mph

7. Chip Ellis, Harley-Davidson, 6.880, 194.80 mph

8. Hector Arana, EBR, 6.885, 197.57 mph

9. Scotty Pollacheck, Suzuki, 6.885, 194.49 mph

10. Andrew Hines, Harley-Davidson, 6.886, 194.60 mph

11. Ryan Oehler, Buell, 6.893, 196.64 mph

12. Angelle Sampey, Buell, 6.895, 193.40 mph

13. Steve Johnson, Suzuki, 6.898, 191.29 mph

14. Karen Stoffer, Suzuki, 6.952, 191.40 mph

15. Freddie Camarena, Suzuki, 6.953, 194.86 mph

16. Katie Sullivan, Suzuki, 6.978, 193.99 mph

Presently, there are five Pro Stock Motorcycles, who are not qualified for the show. The No. 17 qualifier is Kelly Clontz, who went 7.013 at 191.57 mph.

The No. 18 qualifier was Anthony Vanetti, who went 7.074 at 188.94 mph. The No. 19 qualifier was Angie Smith, who went 7.081 at 163.63 mph.

The No. 20 qualifier was Maurice Allen, who went 7.114 at 186.64 mph. The No. 21 qualifier was Melissa Surber, who was broke.


Any Corrections?. You can contact Anthony Caruso III, Publisher at


Follow us: @CapSportsReport on Twitter | The Capital Sports Report on Facebook


©2007-2019 The Capital Sports Report. Please honor copyright! Piracy hurts writers, devalues their works, and puts you and your employer at risk of lawsuits. All original materials contained on this website are protected by the United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcasted without the prior written permission.

About Anthony Caruso III (10096 Articles)
Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher of The Capital Sports Report.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.