Tight End Gonzalez earns 2019 call to the Hall

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Former NFL tight end Tony Gonzalez received the call to the Hall of Fame on Saturday. He was one of three players, who were elected on their first ballot.

He joins Champ Bailey and Ed Reed, who were also selected on their first-time as a finalist. Besides Bailey and Reed, Gonzalez will be joined in the Class of 2019 with Kevin Mawae, Ty Law, Johnny Robinson, Gil Brandt, and Pat Bowlen.

The 42-year-old Torrance, California native spent his career with the Atlanta Falcons and the Kansas City Chiefs. He was the 13th overall pick in the 1997 NFL Draft.

He played his first 12-years with the Chiefs from 1997 through 2008. Gonzalez then completed his career with the Falcons, where he played the final four years from 2009 through 2013.

In his career, he made 190 appearances with 174 starts with the Chiefs. He had 916 receptions for 10,940 yards and 76 yards.

After signing with the Falcons, he made 80 starts. He had 409 receptions for 4,187 yards and 35 touchdowns.

In his final season during the 2013 campaign, he made 16 starts with the Falcons. He had 83 receptions for 859 yards and eight touchdowns.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.