Todd goes for two straight at the 2019 Denso Four-Wide Nationals

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

DHL Funny Car pilot J.R. Todd will look for his second straight win at the 2019 Denso Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals. Todd defeated Infinite Hero Foundation pilot Jack Beckman in the final round at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The reigning Funny Car Champion went 4.041 at 312.21 mph. The Norco, California native went 4.052 at 312.21 mph.

Funny Car pilot J.R. Todd racing on Sunday at the Denso Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals
J.R. Todd racing on Sunday at the Denso Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals (Photo by the NHRA)

The Indianapolis, Indiana native will attempt to get his first win of the season. Robert Hight has two wins so far, while Matt Hagan also has a win through three wins of the 2019 season.

Besides Todd, his Kalitta Motorsports teammate Shawn Langdon is entered into this race. John Force Racing teammates living legend John Force and Robert Hight will be competing.

In addition, Don Schumacher Racing teammates, Beckman, Matt Hagan, Tommy Johnson Jr. and Ron Capps will be there. Levi, Ray and Shoup Inc.’s pilot Tim Wilkerson will also be competing.

Snap-On pilot Cruz Pedregon will also be competing. The Brownsburg, Indiana native hinted on social media that he will have a white Funny Car this weekend, which he nicknamed “El Incursor,” aka The Raider.

Pedregon also admitted on Twitter that he was sick on Thursday.

Tasca Motorsports pilot Bob Tasca III will be competing in his Ford Motorcraft/Quick Lane Funny Car. Jim Dunn Racing pilot Jim Campbell will be competing against the fellow drivers this weekend, too.

Head Inc. pilot Jonnie Lindberg is back for his second straight race weekend. His team missed the first two events of the season in Pomona, California and Chandler, Arizona.

“The Surfer” Jeff Diehl will be competing in his Jeff Diehl Racing Funny Car. Densham Motorsports pilot Gary Densham will be competing, as well.

Part-timers Terry Haddock and Phil Burkhart Jr. will also be there.

Presently, there are 17 Funny Cars on the entry list. Only 16 Funny Cars will make the show on Sunday for eliminations.

That means one Funny Car driver and his team will not make the final cut on Saturday evening.

Force has the most wins at this facility. However, he has not win at the track since 2016.

The Yorba Linda, California native won in 2016, 2015, 2014, 2010 (twice), 2002.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.