No repeat winner in PS at the Virginia NHRA Nationals

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Pro Stock returns to Virginia Motorsports Park in North Dinwiddie, Virginia this weekend. This is race No. 8 in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series that will take place from Friday, May 17th through Sunday, May 19th.

In addition, this is the first-time in five weeks that Pro Stock returns to the track. Their last competition before Virginia came at the DENSO Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas from April 5-7.

Former Pro Stock driver Tanner Gray racing on Sunday at the Virginia NHRA Nationals
Tanner Gray racing on Sunday at the Virginia NHRA Nationals (Photo by the NHRA)

There will be no repeat winner in this category as the tour returns to Virginia Motorsports Park. Tanner Gray was the 2018 winner; however, he departed the sport following the conclusion of that season.

Gray — who recently won his first NASCAR in the Twin 100s #1 on Sunday, May 4 at South Boston Speedway in South Boston, Virginia — defeated Erica Enders-Stevens in the final round of the reboot of the Virginia NHRA Nationals. Gray went 6.595 at 208.81 mph to receive the Wally.

When Gray won in Virginia, it was his second win of the season. He also won the Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals in Gainesville, Florida in March 2018.

Enders-Stevens went 6.628 at 208.46 mph in the losing effort.

While Gray Motorsports no longer have a team in the category, Enders-Stevens will be competing with her Elite Performance car. Her teammates Jeg Coughlin Jr., Alex Laughlin, and Rodger Brogdon will also compete in Virginia.

Team KB Racing will have their field of cars, including Summit Racing Equipment cars driven by Jason Line and Greg Anderson. Their teammates Bo Butner III, Deric Kramer, and Fernando Cuadra.

Cuadra will also have his son competing this weekend.

Texas native Chris McGaha will also be competing. In addition, Kenny Delco Racing will have their two drivers, Kenny Delco and Val Smeland, competing, as well.

There will be 17 cars on the property. Only 16 cars will make the show on Sunday.

The other cars on the property will be Shane Tucker, Alan Prusiensky, Matthew Hartford, and Baron “Wally” Stroupe.

Warren “The Professor” Johnson is the all-time leader in wins at Virginia. He has four with wins in 1998, 1997, 1996, and 1995.

Only one active driver has a win at the property. Line won previously in 2006.

Former Pro Stock driver Tanner Gray after winning the 2018 Virginia NHRA Nationals
Tanner Gray after winning the 2018 Virginia NHRA Nationals (Photo by the NHRA)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.