Hagan looks to repeat at 2019 Summit NHRA Nationals

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Funny Cars return to Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio this weekend for the Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals. This is race No. 12 in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series.

This event will take place from Friday, June 21 through Sunday, June 23. This also concludes a four races in a row — their longest stretch of the season.

Funny Car pilot Matt Hagan racing on Sunday at the 2018 Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals
Matt Hagan racing on Sunday at the 2018 Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals (Photo by the NHRA)

Matt Hagan won the Wally at this event one year ago. He defeated Courtney Force in the final round of the Funny Car category.

The Virginia farmer went 4.094 at 288.21 mph for the win. The Yorba Linda, California native — who stepped away from racing at the conclusion of the 2018 season — went 4.220 at 227.54 mph.

Hagan will be competing this weekend. Besides the Christiansburg, Virginia native, Don Schumacher Racing will also have their three other pilots in Jack Beckman, Ron Capps, and Tommy Johnson Jr.

Fellow mega team, John Force Racing, will have their two pilots on the property in Robert Hight and living legend John Force. Force lost in the final round last weekend, as he attempted to win milestone 150 in his career.

Kalitta Motorsports will have their two pilots competing this weekend in reigning Funny Car champion J.R. Todd and Shawn Langdon. Fellow full-time competitor Tim Wilkerson will be competing at the track, as well.

Full-time pilot Cruz Pedregon will be at the Ohio track with his Snap-On Funny Car pilot. Bob Tasca III will be there in his Ford Motorcraft/Quick Lane Funny Car.

Tasca III ended a skid that went back to the 2012 season last Sunday as he defeated the living legend in the final round.

Full-time competitor Jim Campbell will be competing in the Jim Dunn Racing Funny Car.

There will be 20 Funny Cars on the property this weekend. Only 16 will make the show for eliminations on Sunday. That means four will be sent home after Saturday’s qualifying.

Others include Paul Lee, Terry Haddock, Blake Alexander, Dale Creasy Jr., Mike McIntire Jr., Bob Bode Jr., Jeff Diehl, and Jonnie Lindberg. McIntire Jr. will be making his NHRA debut after getting his NHRA license at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Beckman is the active driver with the most wins at this Ohio facility. He previously won in 2017, 2015, and 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.