Latest News

Ensan wins 2019 WSOP

Follow The Capital Sports Report on

Follow us: @CapSportsReport on Twitter | The Capital Sports Report on Facebook

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Hossein Ensan has won the 2019 World Series of Poker in Las Vegas. He outlasted two other competitors on Tuesday night and into early Wednesday morning to win the $10 million grand prize.

This was the second largest field in WSOP tournament history with 8,569 players. The largest tournament was in 2006 with 8,773 players.

Hossein Ensan (Photo by

The 55-year-old Ensan is now the oldest player to win the tournament since 1999. Noel Furlong won at 61 twenty years ago.

“This is the best feeling in my life,” Ensan said after the event with a huge smile. “Unbelievable! I am so happy I’m here with the bracelet in hand. What can I say?”

He is the second German to win, according to Pius Heinz won the entire tournament in 2011.

Ensan is also the third Iranian-born player to win. Hamid Dastmalchi was the last to do it in 1992.

Monsour Matloubi also won in 1990.

When the two competitors faced off, Ensan had a small lead over Dario Sammartino. The Italian then took the lead before the German was able to get it back.

Ensan was able to then build a demanding lead over Sammartino. He forced Sammartino all in with pocket Kings and was able to win the hand.

The Italian went home with a cool $6 million. With his second-place finish, he now has the most all-time earnings in Italy from Poker.

“Dario is a friend of mine,” Ensan said later. “He’s a very good player. But short-handed you need cards. You need hands, and for sure luck. And luck and hands were on my side. Otherwise, I’d be runner up.”

Alex Livingston was the third place finisher on Tuesday. He went home with $4 million.

The results of the final nine:

1st place – Hossein Ensan – $10,000,000

2nd place – Dario Sammartino – $6,000,000

3rd place – Alex Livingston – $4,000,000

4th place – Garry Gates – $3,000,000

5th place – Kevin Maahs – $2,200,000

6th place – Zhen Cai – $1,850,000

7th place – Nick Marchington – $1,525,000

8th place – Timothy Su – $1,250,000

9th place – Milos Skrbic – $1,000,000

Any Corrections?. You can contact Anthony Caruso III, Publisher at

Patreon button


Follow us: @CapSportsReport on Twitter | The Capital Sports Report on Facebook


©2007-2019 The Capital Sports Report. Please honor copyright! Piracy hurts writers, devalues their works, and puts you and your employer at risk of lawsuits. All original materials contained on this website are protected by the United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcasted without the prior written permission.

About Anthony Caruso III (11397 Articles)
Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher of The Capital Sports Report.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.