Pedregon takes provisional FC lead at 2019 Dodge Mile-High Nationals

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Snap-On Tools Funny Car pilot Cruz Pedregon is the provisional leader in his category at the 40th annual Dodge Mile-High NHRA Nationals presented by Pennzoil. Pedregon went 4.002 at 317.42 mph on the first day of the three-day event at Bandimere Speedway in Morrison, Colorado.

If his time is able to hold up on Saturday, it’ll be his first No. 1 qualifier since the 2015 season. It’ll also be the Brownsburg, Indiana native’s 62nd No. 1 qualifier if it is able to hold up if there are two additional qualifying passes.

Funny Car pilot Cruz Pedregon racing on Friday at the Dodge Mile-High Nationals Presented by Pennzoil
Cruz Pedregon racing on Friday at the Dodge Mile-High Nationals Presented by Pennzoil (Photo by the NHRA)

“To be honest, I didn’t think it would hold up,” said Pedregon. “I thought we’d showed out hand and let everyone know what was possible. We kept hanging in there. I’m happy for Dodge and Mopar. I went to the Mopar Block Party last night and really enjoyed it. I’m grateful for the investment they’ve made, and how they’ve supported us. We’ve struggled at times this season, but I think the needle is pointing up. The Snap on Dodge is running better.

“When you think about it, we’re running close to the same numbers we ran a couple of weeks ago in sea-level in Epping. Guys have figured out how to run up here on the mountain. It used to be that we were three-tenths slower. Now we’re within a half a tenth and that’s a credit to the teams.”

NAPA Auto Parts Funny Car pilot Ron Capps is the provisional No. 2 qualifier. The Carlsbad, California native went 4.005 at 316.97 mph.

PPG Funny Car pilot Bob Tasca III is the provisional No. 3 qualifier. The Hope, Rhode Island native went 4.008 at 317.49 mph.

PEAK Anti freeze Funny Car pilot John Force is the provisional No. 4 qualifier. The Yorba Linda, California native went 4.051 at 305.70 mph.

DHL Funny Car pilot J.R. Todd is the provisional No. 5 qualifier. The Indianapolis, Indiana native went 4.101 at 271.13 mph.

The rest of the provisional field panned out like this:

6. Robert Hight, Camaro, 4.145, 307.37 mph

7. Shawn Langdon, Camry, 4.291, 221.31 mph

8. Matt Hagan, Charger, 4.324, 232.43 mph

9. Jim Campbell, Charger, 4.348, 281.19 mph

10. Todd Simpson, Charger, 4.520, 239.14 mph

11. Tim Wilkerson, Mustang, 4.607, 183.89 mph

12. Jeff Diehl, Camry, 5.993, 119.76 mph

13. Tommy Johnson Jr., Charger, 6.619, 97.96 mph

14. Jack Beckman, Charger, 7.299, 101.90 mph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.