Smith uses third quickest pass to get 2019 PSM lead at Thunder Mountain

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Matt Smith is the No. 1 qualifier on Saturday at the 40th annual Dodge Mile-High Nationals presented by Pennzoil. The reigning Pro Stock Motorcycle champion had the third quickest PSM pass at Bandimere Speedway during the second qualifying session.

Smith went 7.132 at 188.31 mph to claim the top spot and his second No. 1 qualifier of the season. In addition, it is his 33rd No. 1 qualifier of his career.

Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Matt Smith racing on Saturday at the Dodge Mile-High NHRA Nationals
Matt Smith racing on Saturday at the Dodge Mile-High NHRA Nationals (Photo by the NHRA)

“I didn’t think we’d see a number like that,” Smith said. “After I saw [wife] Angie run a 7.20 I thought we might be able to run 7.17 or 7.16. I didn’t see a .13 coming. After we had that rain the track tightened up with no sun on it and my combination just stuck. That’s the fastest I’ve ever been up here. I took a tooth [sprocket] off today and it still nosed over before the finish line. I should have run almost 190-mph.

“I can’t say enough about my team and Denso and all those who support us. You know, we’re just a little team out here. If you look at that black [Vance & Hines] trailer and see all they’ve got in there they should never lose a race. I’m also happy for Angie because this is the highest she’s ever qualified. We were just a hundredth or so from being No. 1 and No. 2 and that would have been cool.”

Smith will face Jimmy Underdahl in the first-round of eliminations. The Forrest Lake, Minnesota native went 7.377 at 178.35 mph.

White Alligator Racing’s Jerry Savoie is the No. 2 qualifier. The Cut Off, Louisiana native went 7.197 at 183.84 mph.

Savoie will face Kelly Clontz in the first-round of eliminations. The Hughesville, Maryland native went 7.339 at 180.69 mph.

Matt Smith Racing’s Angie Smith is the No. 3 qualifier. The King, North Carolina native went 7.203 at 185.18 mph.

Smith will face Joey Gladstone in the first-round of eliminations. The Milton, Delaware native went 7.338 at 182.60 mph.

Screamin’ Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson rider Andrew Hines is the No. 4 qualifier. The Brownsburg, Indiana native went 7.232 at 186.20 mph.

Hines will face Cory Reed in the first-round of eliminations. The Lithia, Florida native went 7.328 at 182.62 mph.

Lucas Oil sponsored Hector Arana is the No. 5 qualifier. The Milltown, Indiana native went 7.232 at 184.65 mph.

Arana will face fellow Lucas Oil sponsored rider Eiji Kawakami. He went 7.322 at 181.23 mph.

The rest of the ladder looked like this:

6. Hector Arana Jr, EBR, 7.240, 183.47 mph vs. 11. Ryan Oehler, EBR, 7.273, 187.03 mph

7. Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson, 7.249, 186.28 mph vs. 10. Karen Stoffer, Suzuki, 7.272, 183.12 mph

8. Angelle Sampey, Harley-Davidson, 7.268, 185.08 mph vs. 9. Scotty Pollacheck, EBR, 7.269, 184.12 mph

Did Not Qualify:

17. Michael Ray, 7.445, 180.72 mph

18. Jianna Salinas, 7.478, 179.16 mph

19. Andi Rawlings, 7.635, 172.70 mph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.