Mets slugger Alonso wins 2019 NL ROY

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

The New York Mets were a disappointment during the 2019 season. However, they did have one bright spot in rookie Pete Alonso.

Alonso became the sixth player in team history to win the Rookie of the Year. He is the first since his teammate Jacob DeGrom won the honors in 2014.

New York Mets slugger Pete Alonso celebrates with his teammates after defeating the Philadelphia Phillies, 5-4, with a game-winning RBI
Pete Alonso celebrates with his teammates after defeating the Philadelphia Phillies, 5-4, with a game-winning RBI (Getty Images)

Besides Alonso and deGrom, Dwight Gooden won the honors in 1984. The team had back-to-back winners, as Darryl Strawberry won in 1983.

Jon Matlack also won in 1972, while Tom Seaver was the first to win it with the Mets in 1967.

Alonso is also the sixth first baseman to win the award. Cody Bellinger was the last to do it in 2017 and Ryan Howard won it in 2005. Willie McCovey also won it in 1959, Orlando Cepeda won in 1958, and Jackie Robinson won it in 1947.

“That’s some serious, serious elite company,” Alonso said of winning Rookie of the Year. “To be a part of that, I just feel really blessed. I’m going to use this success, and build off of that as motivation to keep going, keep pushing.”

Alonso received 148 points. Atlanta Braves pitcher Mike Soroka was second with 82 points, while San Diego Padres shortstop Fernando Tatis Jr. had 26 points.

“To just win the award, it doesn’t matter if it’s unanimous or not,” Alonso said. “It’s such a blessing. To just have that title is unbelievable. So whether it’s unanimous or not, to me it doesn’t matter.”

This is the second straight year a National League East player won the award. He won the Ronald Acuña Jr. in 2018.

On the season, the 25-year-old had a .260 batting average with 53 home runs and 120 RBIs on 155 hits in 597 at-bats. He also had 30 doubles and two triples, while scoring 103 runs.

National League results
1) Pete Alonso, NYM: 29 (1st place), 1 (2nd place) — 148 points
2) Mike Soroka, ATL: 1 (1st), 25 (2nd), 2 (3rd) — 82
3) Fernando Tatis Jr., SD: 2 (2nd), 20 (3rd) — 26
4) Bryan Reynolds, PIT: 1 (2nd), 6 (3rd) — 9
5) Dakota Hudson, STL: 1 (2nd), 1 (3rd) — 4
6) Victor Robles, WSH: 1 (3rd) — 1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.