Mets’ deGrom wins two straight NL Cy Young Awards

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom has won two straight National League Cy Young Awards. He also took home the 2018 award.

deGrom is the seventh National League pitcher to receive back-to-back honors. This list includes Randy Johnson, Tim Lincecum, Clayton Kershaw, Max Scherzer, Greg Maddux, and Sandy Koufax.

New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom pitches against the Washington Nationals
Jacob deGrom pitches against the Washington Nationals (Getty Images)

deGrom received 29 first-place votes and one second-place vote for 207 total points. He ran away with the award, as Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Hyun-Jin Ryu and Washington Nationals pitcher Scherzer was second with 72. St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Jack Flaherty was third with 69.

There were only two pitchers, who received first-place votes. deGrom and Ryu were those pitchers, as Ryu also received one first-place vote.

“I feel like I was trying to better what I did in 2018,” deGrom said Wednesday. “I think that was something I struggled with to start this year, was kind of dwelling on what happened last year. Kind of not focusing on the task ahead as much as I probably should have.”

The 31-year-old DeLand, Florida native went 11-8 in 32 appearances, including 32 starts, with a 2.43 ERA. He allowed 59 runs (55 earned runs), including 19 home runs, on 154 hits over 204 innings.

He also struck out 255 batters and walked 44.

“It was a dream to play this game and a dream to win one Cy Young,” he said. “To win back to back was a goal. It’s hard to explain. You set these goals, but it almost doesn’t feel real yet.”

NL Cy Young Voting

Pitcher, Team1st2nd3rd4th5thTot
Jacob deGrom, Mets291207
Hyun-Jin Ryu, Dodgers11087388
Max Scherzer, Nationals886472
Jack Flaherty, Cardinals5116469
Stephen Strasburg, Nationals619853
Mike Soroka, Braves169
Sonny Gray, Reds44
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers13
Walker Buehler, Dodgers12
Kirby Yates, Padres12
Patrick Corbin, Nationals11
–Total points on a 7-4-3-2-1 basis
–Baseball Writers’ Association of America

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.