Hagan claims Funny Car top spot on Friday at 2019 Auto Club Finals

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Mopar/Pennzoil sponsored Funny Car pilot Matt Hagan is the provisional leader in his category on Friday at the Auto Clubs NHRA Finals. He went 3.872 at 33.58 mph at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Pomona, California.

The Christiansburg, Virginia native had the quickest time of both Funny Car passes. He picked up eight qualifying points to get closer to points leader Robert Hight.

Mopar/Pennzoil sponsored Funny Car pilot Matt Hagan racing on Friday at the Auto Club NHRA Finals
Matt Hagan racing on Friday at the Auto Club NHRA Finals (Photo by the NHRA)

If his time is able to hold up, it’ll be his second No. 1 qualifier of the season. And if he is the No. 1 qualifier on Saturday, it’ll be his 35th in his career.

“Obviously the car is really running strong and we’ve had a great race car the last couple of races,” said Hagan. “We were able to capitalize on the points today and I’m proud of Dickie Venables, Mike Knudsen, and Alex Conway. They’re putting a real good racecar beneath me. The car is running great, my lights are good, so we’re just digging. It’s be hard not to have confidence coming off of two straight race wins and going low for both sessions here in Pomona.”

Levi, Ray, and Shoup Inc.’s Funny Car pilot Tim Wilkerson is the provisional No. 2 qualifier. The Springfield, Illinois native went 3.876 at 327.43 mph.

Global Electronic Technology Funny Car pilot Shawn Langdon — who is reportedly in his final Funny Car race — is the provisional No. 3 qualifier. The Indianapolis, Indiana native went 3.893 at 330.80 mph.

Make-A-Wish Foundation Funny Car pilot Tommy Johnson Jr. is the provisional No. 4 qualifier. The Avon, Indiana native went 3.945 at 319.82 mph.

Infinite Hero Foundation Funny Car pilot Jack Beckman is the provisional No. 5 qualifier. The Norco, California native went 3.949 at 326.16 mph.

The rest of the provisional ladder looked like this:

6. Cruz Pedregon, Charger, 3.967, 320.28 mph

7. Blake Alexander, Mustang, 4.017, 304.74 mph

8. Jeff Arend, Chevy Monte Carlo, 4.099, 278.69 mph

9. Steven Densham, Mustang, 4.129, 289.57 mph

10. John Force, Chevy Camaro, 4.185, 292.65 mph

11. Ron Capps, Charger, 4.229, 219.76 mph

12. Robert Hight, Camaro, 4.354, 306.05 mph

13. Paul Lee, Charger, 4.491, 185.64 mph

14. J.R. Todd, Camry, 6.020, 112.21 mph

15. Terry Haddock, Mustang, 6.085, 111.87 mph

16. Bob Tasca III, Mustang, 6.117, 109.91 mph

Not Qualified:

17. Jonnie Lindberg, 7.377, 81.26 mph

18. Jim Campbell, 8.051, 83.37 mph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.