NBA changes All-Star Award in honor of Kobe Bryant

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

The NBA announced on Saturday night the All-Star Game MVP will have a new name. The league announced it will now be known as the Kobe Bryant MVP Award.

The legendary Los Angeles Lakers player was killed on January 26th in Calabasas, California. He was on a helicopter that crashed into a hillside.

Nine individuals, who were killed in the helicopter crash, honored at the Super Bowl (Getty Images)

Bryant was on board the helicopter with eight others, including his daughter Gianna. It took first responders one hour to reach the scene before they determined that the nine were dead on impact.

This is another tribute that the NBA has announced in honor of Bryant, who played 20 years in the Association, all with the Lakers. On Sunday night during the All-Star Game, the teams will wear special jerseys instead of their own jerseys.

Team LeBron will wear No. 2, which represents the number Gianna Bryant wore with her Mamba’s girls team. Team Giannis will wear No. 24, which represents the last number that Bryant wore in his career.

During his career, Bryant was the All-Star Game MVP four times. He won the Award in 2002 in Philadelphia, 2007, 2009, and 2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.