Oehler wins first PSM race at Indy

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Ryan Oehler won his first Pro Stock Motorcycle race in the NHRA on Sunday. He won the E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis in Brownsburg, Indiana.

He defeated Matt Smith in the final round to get his first Wally.

Flyin' Ryan Racing/B&K Cylinder Heads Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Ryan Oehler racing on Sunday at the E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals
Ryan Oehler racing on Sunday at the E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals (Photo by the NHRA)

He is the second straight first-time rider to win in the Pro Stock Motorcycle class. Jianna Salinas also won at the Auto Club NHRA Finals in November at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Pomona, California.

It is the first-time since 2004 that two first-time riders won a race in the category. That year, Andrew Hines won at Gainesville, then Karen Stoffer won at Houston.

“We’ve been hunting for this for a long time,” said Oehler. “This has been my dad’s dream. We’ve raced Pro Stock Harleys and Pro Stock cars in the 1970’s. We got into motorcycles because it was a little bit more our style. We got here, and we just keep on working every day. As soon as I did the burnout, the bike starts dragging out of the water and we don’t have the right freeplay in the clutch. My crew chief Terry [Sutton] even told me that so when I went to the line I knew it was going to try and pull me through the beams.

“I held it back and waited to go on the two-step until the very last second. When the light dropped I knew it was good. To have it all come together like that; this is for my family and my wife, and my team and for God. I love you all very much.”

Oehler had the starting line advantage, as he had an 0.010 reaction time. Smith trailed, as he had an 0.022 reaction time.

The King, North Carolina native then had problems, which led to the runner-up finish. He went 10.126 at 83.3 8 mph.

Oehler went 6.974 at 194.16 mph to get the win. This was also the first-time that Oehler defeated Smith, as he was previously 0-for-3.

This was the first-time that the two riders faced each other in a final round.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.