2020 Pro Stock Motorcycle Gatornationals preview

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

The Pro Stock Motorcycle riders will show off their talents to the Gainesville Raceway fans this weekend in Gainesville, Florida. There will be 18 riders on the property in the class.

Like the rest of the professional classes, this event was originally scheduled for March. However, due to the coronavirus pandemic, the event got pushed back in Sept.

Pro Stock Motorcycle rider Andrew Hines in his celebration Wally after winning the 2019 Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals
Andrew Hines in his celebration Wally after winning the 2019 Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals (Photo by the NHRA)

With many of the restrictions from the coronavirus lessened around the country, fans will be able to attend the event. The NHRA will hope to have at least 1,000 fans at the event.

Despite attending, these fans must still adhere to the COVID-19 restrictions in place. That means they must wear a face mask if they are not six feet apart from one another.

Scotty Pollacheck was the last event winner in the class. The first-time winner won the prestigious Denso Spark Plugs U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis in Brownsburg, Indiana.

There has three first-time winners in the last four Pro Stock Motorcycle events. Jianna Salinas won in the category at the Auto Club NHRA Finals.

Then, Ryan Oehler won at the E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals. Pollacheck then won the event at the U.S. Nationals.

Andrew Hines was the last winner at this track in 2019 in the class. He won the 50th annual Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals.

Hines will return with his Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson teammates Eddie Krawiec and Angelle Sampey. Matt Smith Racing riders Matt Smith, Angie Smith, and Pollacheck have made the trek to Florida.

Kelly Clontz – who has an alliance with Matt Smith Racing – will also be there. Matt Smith assists with her tuning with her husband Chris Clontz.

Jerry Savoie will be at the Florida event with his Louisiana-based team. Oehler has traveled from Illinois to compete at this event.

Hector Arana and Hector Arana Jr. are listed on the entry list for this event. Back in March, Arana was expected to retire following this event – but it was pushed back until this weekend.

Now, this is expected to be Arana’s last event. Chris Bostick – who went to the final round at the Dodge NHRA Indy Nationals presented by Pennzoil – before being defeated by Sampey, who won her first race since Englishtown in 2015.

Other drivers vying for the 16 spots for eliminations are Marc Ingwersen, David Barron, Michael Phillips, Steve Johnson, John Hall, and Lance Bonham.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report. Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.