Busch ends streak, wins first race of the 2020 in Texas

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Skittles Zombie driver Kyle Busch has had a disastrous year. He was winless on the season in the NASCAR Cup Series – but that all came to an end on Wednesday night.

Busch won the delayed Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, Texas. Due to rain, racing was stopped on Sunday, then track officials struggled to get the track surface under control on Monday and Tuesday.

Skittles Zombie NASCAR Cup Series driver Kyle Busch doing a burnout following his win at the Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500
Kyle Busch doing a burnout following his win at the Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 (Photo by Kyle Busch/Instagram)

“We finally got it,” Busch said. “I was so nervous… I was nervous the whole last run. I’ve been in this position so many times. The last three laps, though, that’s like winning the championship. That’s how nervous I was.

Related: 2019 NASCAR Cup Series Season In Review: Kyle Busch

“I can’t believe it, but just so proud to be here. My team guys, awesome pit stops, they were phenomenal. We’re ready to fight next year — we’ll be back.”

This is Busch’s 57th career NASCAR Cup Series win in 568 starts. Before Wednesday night, he last won in the Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Sunday, November 17, 2019 in Homestead, Florida.

Related: Kyle Busch earns win 199 in Phoenix

With the Ford EcoBoost 400 win, the 35-year-old won the NASCAR Cup Series Championship in 2015 and 2019.

Busch beat out Bass Pro Shops/Tracker Boats & ATV’s driver Martin Truex Jr., who finished second in his Joe Gibbs Racing ride. Procore/LFR First Start Throwback driver Christopher Bell finished third in his Leavine Family Racing entry.

Related: Truex Jr. wins 2019 First Data 500 in Martinsville

“We knew he was close (on fuel),” Truex said of finishing second. “The only thing we could do at that point is what we did all day anyway, which is try to run flat-out. Hell of an effort by the guys… It seems like one of those years when we’re second, third, fourth. We’re there a lot. We just needed a little bit more to be better.”

The No. 18 driver led a race-high 90 laps in his Toyota. The retiring Clint Bowyer was second with 89 laps led in his No. 14 ride. Truex Jr, Alex Bowman, Kevin Harvick, Ryan Blaney, Bell, Matt DiBenedetto, Erik Jones, Aric Almirola, and Brennan Poole all led at least one lap.

Related: Bowyer re-signs with Stewart-Haas Racing for 2020 season

Several drivers were not able to complete the race. Those were the retiring Jimmie Johnson, who only has two races left in his NASCAR career before he moves to IndyCar in 2021, Joey Gase, Bubba Wallace, Matt Kenseth, and J.J. Yeley.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.