Hagan wins 36th Funny Car Wally at Las Vegas

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Mopar-sponsored Funny Car pilot Matt Hagan won the final Wally of the season. He won the 20th annual Dodge NHRA Finals presented by Pennzoil on Sunday at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Hagan defeated Ron Capps in the final round. The Christiansburg, Virginia native went 3.914 at 326.40 mph to claim the Wally.

Mopar-sponsored Funny Car pilot Matt Hagan racing on Sunday at the 20th annual Dodge NHRA Finals presented by Pennzoil
Matt Hagan racing on Sunday at the 20th annual Dodge NHRA Finals presented by Pennzoil

The Carlsbad, California native — who was the No. 1 qualifier — went 4.463 at 173.70 mph. No No. 1 qualifier won in the Funny Car on the entire season.

Related: Antron Brown wins 51st Top Fuel Wally in Las Vegas

“It’s been just an unbelievable season,” remarked Hagan who claimed three event wins over the course of the year, including DSR’s (Don Schumacher Racing) milestone 350th victory. “My guys have put an unbelievable car behind me with Pennzoil, Dodge SRT and Mopar. Everybody who supports us. It’s great to win for Camping World and their first championship. My guys have worked so hard all season long. I can’t say enough about them and thank them. Three wins, a championship, it’s just special. I can’t wait for next season.”

Before this final round, Capps held a 34-29 advantage over Hagan. In addition, before this season finale, each driver had won four times against the other driver in the final round.

Related: Erica Enders win season-finale Wally in Las Vegas

This was the first time that they faced each other in a final round in more than three-years. Their last final round appearance before this weekend was in Topeka in 2017.

The No. 1 and No. 2 Funny Car qualifiers have met 108 times in the final round. The No. 1 qualifier has won the event 57 times.

Related: Angie Smith wins second career Pro Stock Motorcycle Wally

Capps had a better reaction time to have a starting line advantage with an 0.067. Hagan trailed with a 0.110.

The California was leading until around half track when he had an explosion in the cockpit. Hagan then drove past him for the win.

Related: Matt Smith wins fourth Pro Stock Motorcycle Championship

With the win, Hagan now has three wins during the 2020 season. In addition, this is his 36th career Funny Car win.

Hagan also won his third Funny Car Championship at the event, as well.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.