Jason Line loses in a hole shot in his final Pro race

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Summit Racing Equipment Pro Stock driver Jason Line has officially stepped away from the sport. He will no longer be a full-time competitor in the NHRA.

Line was defeated by Cristian Cuadra in the 20th annual NHRA Dodge Finals presented by Pennzoil on Sunday. The Texas-based driver won with a 6.691 at 204.98 mph pass.

Summit Racing Equipment Pro Stock driver Jason Line racing on Saturday at the 20th annual Dodge NHRA Finals presented by Pennzoil
Jason Line racing on Saturday at the 20th annual Dodge NHRA Finals presented by Pennzoil (Photo by KB Racing/Instagram)

The North Carolina-based driver went 6.653 at 205.51 mph in the losing effort. Cuadra won by 0.0428 seconds, or approx. 13 feet at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Related: Jeg Coughlin Jr. exits in the first-round in his Pro Stock final race

With the win by Cuadra, Line was also eliminated from Championship contention. The loss gave Erica Enders her fourth Pro Stock Championship since the 2014 season.

“It’s been a good run, and I’ve really enjoyed driving a Pro Stock car for Ken Black and Summit Racing,” Line said when he announced his retirement in January. “I’m not leaving Pro Stock – I’m just going to be working for wins for KB Racing from a different kind of seat.”

Related: Bo Butner ends Pro Stock career with second-round loss in Las Vegas

Line is just one of five Pro Stock drivers to have 50 or more wins in the category. Unfortunately, two of the men, including Jeg Coughlin Jr. have retired at the end of the season.

The Ohio-based driver departs the sport with 65 career wins in the category. Line retires with 51 wins.

Related: Megan Lingner (Meyer) retires on top with 2020 TAD Championship

Line’s final win of his career came at the E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals in July at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis in Brownsburg, Indiana.

“The Professor” Warren Johnson leads the pack with 97 career wins. Line’s KB Racing teammate Greg Anderson has 94 career wins. The late Bob Glidden is third with 85 career wins.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.