Jeg Coughlin Jr. exits in the first-round in his Pro Stock final race

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

JEGS/Elite Motorsports Pro Stock driver Jeg Coughlin Jr. has seen his historic career come to an end. Coughlin Jr. goes out as one of the best drivers to ever compete in the sport.

His career came to an end on Sunday at the 20th annual Dodge NHRA Finals presented by Pennzoil. He was defeated in the first-round by his Elite Motorsports teammate.

JEGS/Elite Motorsports Pro Stock driver Jeg Coughlin Jr. racing on Sunday at the 60th annual Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals presented by
Jeg Coughlin Jr. racing on Sunday at the 60th annual Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals presented by (Photo by the NHRA)

Aaron Stanfield defeated Coughlin Jr. at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas, Nevada, according to Drag Race Central. The Louisiana-based driver went 6.687 at 205.82 mph to get the win.

Related: Megan Lingner (Meyer) retires on top with 2020 TAD Championship

The Ohio-based driver went 6.667 at 205.29 mph in the losing effort.

Stanfield won by 0.0212 seconds. He won the round by approx. 6 feet.

“Since 1997, I’ve been able to live out my biggest childhood dream by racing with my family and following my Dad and older brother Troy into the professional ranks and racing a Pro Stock car,” Coughlin Jr. said when he announced his retirement in February. “We’ve been able to win six championships, five in Pro Stock, and 82 national events in a variety of classes. It’s been a remarkable run.

Related: Harli White announces family is selling Sprint Car operation

“It certainly hasn’t been an individual effort. It’s taken so many talented crewmen and crew chiefs, engine builders and chassis experts, my incredible family, everyone at JEGS, and all the other companies that have partnered with us through the years. I couldn’t have asked for a better scenario.”

The six-time Pro Stock Champion departs the sport with 65 career wins. He departs the class as the fourth-most winningest driver in the category.

Related: NASCAR will not penalize Erik Jones for standing down

He only trails the late Bob Glidden, who had 85; while active racer Greg Anderson, who has 94 wins. “The Professor” Warren Johnson leads them all with 97 career wins.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.