NASCAR legend Jimmie Johnson gets street named after him near Phoenix

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

NASCAR legend Jimmie Johnson had a street named after him outside of Phoenix Raceway on Sunday. Johnson is competing in his final race at the venue in his NASCAR career.

Johnson has announced that he will transition to IndyCar for the 2021 and 2022 seasons for Chip Ganassi Racing. He has already began to prepare for his next venture, as he has been announced as the Carvana Racing driver.

Phoenix Raceway has named a street outside of their facility Jimmie Johnson Drive just hours before the NASCAR legend competes in his final race in the sport before he transitions to IndyCar.
Phoenix Raceway has named a street outside of their facility Jimmie Johnson Drive just hours before the NASCAR legend competes in his final race in the sport before he transitions to IndyCar (Photo by Phoenix Raceway/Facebook)

“Headin’ down Jimmie Johnson Drive,” Phoenix Raceway said in a Facebook post. “In honor of #OneFinalTime, you will now take a cruise on Jimmie Johnson Drive when you head to the track!”

Related: Austin Cindric wins Team Penske’s second Xfinity Series Championship

The street is right outside of the Phoenix Raceway track.

The legendary driver is one of the greatest drivers in the NASCAR Cup Series history. He is one of three drivers in the history of the sport with seven Championships.

He is tied with Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt. “The King” won his Championships in 1964, 1967, 1971, 1972, 1974, 1975, and 1979.

Related: Injured Dom Lagana cleared for rehab

“The Intimidator” won his seven championships in 1980, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1991, 1993, and 1994. Johnson won five straight Championships from 2006 through 2010, then won two additional championships in 2013 and 2016.

Johnson has the sixth-most wins in the history of the sport. He is tied with Cale Yarborough with the 83 wins.

He will only trail Bobby Allison and Darrell Waltrip, who are tied for fourth all-time with 84 wins. Jeff Gordon had 93 wins.

Related: Josh Hart puts Precious A/Fuel Dragster, operation up for sale

Only two men have won more than 100 wins in the history of the sport. David Pearson won 105, while “The King” leads them all with 200.

Petty had 119 wins during the Strictly Stock and Grand National era (1949-1970, before winning 81 during the Winston Cup era (1971-2003).

He has not won an event since the 2017 season. All of his 83 victories have come with Hendrick Motorsports.

Related: Sheldon Creed wins 2020 NASCAR Truck Series Championship

He last won the 2017 AAA 400 Drive for Autism on June 4, 2017, at Dover International Speedway in Dover, Delaware. He only led seven of the 406 laps to get the win.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.