Marlins’ Don Mattingly named 2020 NL Manager of the Year

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Miami Marlins manager Don Mattingly has won the 2020 National League Manager of the Year. He defeated two rookie managers for the award.

Mattingly defeated first-year San Diego Padres manager Jayce Tingler and first-year Chicago Cubs manager David Ross.

Miami Marlins manager Don Mattingly watches the game against the Washington Nationals
Don Mattingly watches the game against the Washington Nationals (Getty Images)

“I look at this award as an organization award,” Mattingly said. “You have to have great staff. Your players have to go perform, so as an organization, I feel like it’s just so good to be recognized.”

Related: Rays’ Kevin Cash wins 2020 AL Manager of the Year

Mattingly won the award with 20 first-place votes. He also received eight second-place votes for 124 points.

Tingler received six first-place votes. He also received 13 second-place votes and two second-place votes for 71 votes.

Ross was the third-place finisher. He had one first-place vote, two second-place votes and 14 third-place votes for 25 points.

Related: Brewers’ Devin Williams wins 2020 NL Rookie of the Year

Besides Mattingly, Tingler, and Ross, Atlanta Braves manager Brian Snitker, Los Angeles Dodgers manager Dave Roberts, and Milwaukee Brewers manager Craig Counsell received one first-place vote.

“I can’t think of anyone more deserving of this award in 2020 than Donnie,” Marlins CEO Derek Jeter said. “His leadership and teamwork with staff and players were on display day in and day out in one of the most challenging seasons this sport has seen, as he guided the team to the organization’s first postseason appearance in 17-years. He continues to believe in our vision and invests in our young talented players to help us work toward our goal of sustained success. This is another great honor in his stories baseball career.”

Related: White Sox manager Tony La Russa hit with a DUI in the Phoenix area

Mattingly – a former baseball player – is now the fifth Most Valuable Player to win a Manager of the Year award. He won the American League MVP with the New York Yankees in 1985.

Besides Mattingly, Frank Robinson, who won the NL MVP in 1961 and the AL MVP in 1966 with the Baltimore Orioles, later won the AL Manager of the Year with the Orioles in 1989. Don Baylor, who won the AL MVP with the Los Angeles Angels in 1979, later won the NL Manager of the Year with the Colorado Rockies in 1995.

Related: Mariners’ Kyle Lewis wins 2020 AL Rookie of the Year

Joe Torre, who won the NL MVP with the St. Louis Cardinals in 1971, tied for the AL Manager of the Year in 1996 with the New York Yankees. Torre tied with Texas Rangers manager Johnny Oates in 1996, before Torre won it outright in 1998.

Kirk Gibson won the NL MVP award with the Los Angeles Dodgers in 1988. He then was award the NL Manager of the Year in 2011 with the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.