Shane Bieber wins 2020 American League Cy Young Award

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Cleveland Indians pitcher Shane Bieber has won the 2020 American League Cy Young Award. He joins Cincinnati Reds pitcher Trevor Bauer, who won the National League Cy Young Award.

Bieber won the award on a unanimous vote. According to the Baseball Writers Association of America, it is just the 10th time this has happened with an American League pitcher.

Cleveland Indians pitcher Shane Bieber throws a pitch against the Milwaukee Brewers
Shane Bieber throws a pitch against the Milwaukee Brewers (Photo by the Cleveland Indians/Instagram)

Former Minnesota Twins pitcher Johan Santana won the award twice unanimously in 2004 and 2006. In addition, former Boston Boston Red Sox pitcher Pedro Martinez won the award unanimously in 1999 and 2000.

Related: Marlins’ Don Mattingly named 2020 NL Manager of the Year

Former Red Sox pitcher Roger Clemens previously won it unanimously in 1986 then again in 1998 with the Toronto Blue Jays. Other unanimous winners include Detroit Tigers pitcher Denny McLain in 1968, New York Yankees pitcher Ron Guidry in 1978, and Tigers pitcher Justin Verlander in 2011.

“That’s the way it should be,” Bieber said. “Obviously we’ll have some challengers, but hopefully we can keep the Cy Young in Ohio for years to come.”

Related: Rays’ Kevin Cash wins 2020 AL Manager of the Year

Bieber received 30 first-place votes. He was the only pitcher to be on every ballot.

He is the sixth Indians pitcher to receive the award. The others include former pitchers Gaylord Perry in 1972, C.C. Sabathia in 2007, Cliff Lee in 2008, and Corey Kluber in 2014 and 2017.

“A lot of that just came from confidence in my stuff, confidence in my ability,” Bieber said. “I feel like, for the most part, when I’m on, I was able to locate my stuff and locate my breaking stuff to where I wanted it to go. That was a big part of my success this year was to throw that curveball that I relied on pretty heavily.”

Related: Brewers’ Devin Williams wins 2020 NL Rookie of the Year

Minnesota Twins pitcher Kenta Maeda — in his first season with the Twins following a trade with the Los Angeles Dodgers — was the second-place finisher. He received 18 second-place votes.

In addition, he also received four third-place votes, two fourth-place votes, and four fifth-place votes for 92 points.

Toronto Blue Jays pitcher Hyun-Jin Ryu — who was also in his first season with the team — finished third. He had 51 points.

Related: White Sox manager Tony La Russa hit with a DUI in the Phoenix area

Ryu received four second-place votes and seven third-place votes. In addition, he had five fourth-place votes and four fifth-place votes.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.