Crimson Tide escapes with a win over Gators in SEC Championship

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

The No. 1 Alabama Crimson Tide have locked themselves into a spot in the College Football Playoff. The Crimson Tide defeated the No. 7 Florida Gators 52-46 to win the 2020 Southeastern Conference Championship on Saturday night at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Crimson Tide will be one of the four teams that will compete in the College Football Playoff. The College Football Playoff teams will be announced around 12:30 pm EST on ESPN on Sunday.

Alabama Crimson Tide running back Najee Harris scores a touchdown against the Florida Gators
Najee Harris scores a touchdown against the Florida Gators (Photo by Alabama Football/Instagram)

With the win, the Crimson Tide improved to 11-0 on the season. The Gators fell to 8-3 in 2020.

Related: Rose Bowl game relocated to AT&T Stadium

Since taking over as the Crimson Tide head coach, Saban is 9-1 in the SEC Championship game. The only loss came in the 2008 SEC Championship to the Gators.

The Gators had trouble stopping Najee Harris, who tied an SEC Championship record with five touchdowns. Harris tied Kentucky Wildcats’ Bob Davis, who had five touchdowns in the SEC Championship in 1936 and 1937.

Harris and DeVonta Smith combined for 45 touchdowns this season. They are just the 17th FBS program to have 45 or more touchdowns in a season by two players.

Related: Bret Bielema is returning home: Illinois hires him as their head football coach

Crimson Tide quarterback Mac Jones went 33 of 43 for 418 yards. He had five touchdown passes and one interception.

Harris had 31 carries for 178 yards and two touchdowns. Smith had 15 receptions for 184 yards and two touchdowns.

Gators quarterback Kyle Trask went 26 of 40 for 408 yards. He had three touchdown passes.

Related: Blazers win their second Conference USA Championship

Emory Jones had two carries for 24 yards. Kadarius Toney had eight receptions for 153 yards and one touchdown.

Harris led the Crimson Tide with the aforementioned five touchdowns. Smith also had two touchdowns.

Alabama kicker Will Reichard also made a field goal.

Related: Cardinals win sixth MAC Championship, defeats Bulls

Nay’Quan Wright scores a rushing touchdown for the Gators. Dameon Price and Trask also scored rushing touchdowns.

Toney, Kyle Pitts, and Trevon Grimes caught touchdown receptions. Florida kicker Evan McPherson also made a field goal.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2020. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.