Wayne Taylor Racing wins third straight Rolex 24 at Daytona

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Wayne Taylor Racing has won their third straight Rolex 24 event at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. WTR is one of just two teams to accomplish this feat.

Chip Ganassi Racing also won three straight Rolex 24 events. CGR was able to win three straight from 2006 through 2008.

Wayne Taylor Racing celebrates their 2021 Rolex 24 win
Wayne Taylor Racing celebrates their 2021 Rolex 24 win (Photo by Daytona International Speedway/Instagram)

The Konica Minolta Acura team completed 807 laps in the 24 hours. The winning drivers were Ricky Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque, Alexander Rossi, and Hélio Castroneves.

Related: Street Outlaws’ Mike Murillo in the hospital with the coronavirus

Before the race, the team switched to Acura. The previous two Rolex 24 event wins came in a Cadillac.

“So much went into this,” said Ricky Taylor, who scored the second overall Rolex victory of his career. “It was a test of trust and a testament to the preparation and sticking to a plan. … We skipped all of the off-season testings because the guys needed time to do everything properly. They know how to win this race. I feel like we were all lucky to be a part of it.”

Ally Cadillac Racing finished second in DPi. This team was led by seven-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson.

Related: Kofoid wins second straight 2021 Wild Wing Shootout feature

The team also consisted of Kamui Kobayashi, Simon Pagenaud, and Mike Rockenfeller. Kobayashi finished second after winning two straight Rolex 24 events with Wayne Taylor Racing.

Mazda Motorsports finished third. Jonathan Bomarito, Harry Tincknell, and Oliver Jarvis drover their Mazda to the third-place finish.

Ezra Motorsport won the LMP2 category. The team was led by Kyle Tilley, Dwight Merriman, Paul-Loup Chatin, and Ryan Dalziel.

Related: Kofoid defeats star-studded field in first night of 2021 Wild Wing Shootout

“It’s amazing,” Merriman said. “I’m proud of the team. It is a team effort to win in endurance racing, especially when you get to these super-long ones. It’s just so hard to win, even if you’re good. It requires all aspects of the program to be good.”

Corvette Racing’s Jordan Taylor, Nicky Catsburg, and Antonio García won a Rolex. García tested positive for the coronavirus, but the team announced it following the event.

Riley Motorsport won in LMP3. Scott Andrews, Gar Robinson, Spencer Pigot, and Oliver Askew were apart of this winning team.

Related: Drag Racing shuts down New Mexico road through February 2021

HTP Winward Motorsport Racing won in the GTD category. Russell Ward, Indy Dontje, Philip Ellis, and Maro Engel led this team to victory.

Renger Van Der Zande was the fastest driver of the event. He had the fastest lap at 1:34.657.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2021. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.