18-year-old Ty Gibbs wins first Xfinity Series start

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Monster Energy sponsored driver Ty Gibbs had a memorable February 20th, 2021. See, this was the first time that he won an event in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

And he won the event at the most prestigious venue in the series. Gibbs won the Super Start Batteries 188 at Daytona International Speedway Road Course on Saturday in Daytona Beach, Florida.

Monster Energy Toyota driver Ty Gibbs celebrates with a burnout after winning the NASCAR Xfinity Super Start Batteries 188 At Daytona Presented by O'Reilly
Ty Gibbs celebrates with a burnout after winning the NASCAR Xfinity Super Start Batteries 188 At Daytona Presented by O’Reilly (Photo by James Gilbert/Getty Images)

He won the race in two hours and 35 minutes. The 18-year-old Gibbs — who is the grandson of NASCAR team owner Joe Gibbs — won the event in double overtime.

Related: Rhodes is third driver to win first two Truck Series events to begin a season

“I just cannot thank everybody right now, really this is like a dream come true for me, it’s just awesome,” said an emotional Gibbs, who turned his first-ever laps in the car and made his first career live pit stop Saturday evening. “I didn’t think I had it there. I fought back and we won.”

Gibbs also won Stage 2 before his win.

“The family is everything to me, they do so much for me,” Gibbs said. “I just can’t thank them enough, this is just amazing; this is a dream come true. It’s all the man above, I’m sorry I’m a wreck. I didn’t think this was going to happen at all. This is awesome, I can’t thank everybody enough for watching, and last week I had a terrible interview. I want to apologize to everybody, I just can’t thank everybody enough. This is just amazing.”

Related: Throwback: Dale Earnhardt’s first Cup Series win

PPG sponsored driver Austin Cindric finished second in his Roger Penske entry. Poppy Bank sponsored driver Daniel Hemric was third for Joe Gibbs Racing.

Cindric led a race-high 29 laps. Gibbs was second with 14 laps led. A.J. Allmendinger, Harrison Burton, Daniel Hemric, and Jeb Burton led multiple laps. Gray Gaulding and Ryan Sieg also led one lap each.

Five drivers were not able to complete the race. This included Preston Pardus, Jade Buford, David Starr, Riley Herbst, and Natalie Decker.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2021. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.