Sunday, June 16, 2024

Sterling Sharpe named to the 2014 CFB Hall of Fame

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Sterling Sharpe has been selected as one of 14 players to be named to the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame class.

Sharpe, regarded as the greatest receiver in South Carolina history, becomes the second Gamecock to be selected to the College Football Hall of Fame. In addition, he was responsible for setting virtually all of the school’s receiving records.

Green Bay Packers wide receiver Sterling Sharpe runs and avoids a tackle by the Philadelphia Eagles defensive players during a game
Sterling Sharpe runs and avoids a tackle by the Philadelphia Eagles defensive players during a game (Photo by Focus on Sport via Getty Images)

He is already a member of the South Carolina Athletics Hall of Fame. At the end of his playing career, he also had his number retired by the school.

READ MORE: Click here for our latest NCAAF coverage

He was named a First-Team All-America selection during the 1987 season. He set records with 74 receptions in a season, 169 career receptions, 1,106 receiving yards, and 2,497 receiving yards in a career. He had at least one reception in 34 straight games, which is a school record.

He has the longest play in school history, with a 100-yard kickoff return for a touchdown against Duke University in 1985.

After his college playing days, he was the seventh overall pick by the Green Bay Packers. With the Pack, he played seven seasons and was named to five Pro Bowls and five All-Pro selections. He also led the league in receiving three times before his retirement.

READ MORE: Click here for our latest Sports coverage

The 2014 Hall of Fame class includes Dre Bly, DB, North Carolina; Tony Boselli, OT, Southern California; Dave Butz, DT, Purdue; Shane Conlan, LB, Penn State; Joe Hamilton, QB, Georgia Tech; John Huard, LB, Maine; Darrin Nelson, HB, Stanford; Willie Roaf, OL, Louisiana Tech; John Sciarra, QB, UCLA; Sterling Sharpe, WR, South Carolina; Leonard Smith, CB, McNeese State; Derrick Thomas (deceased), LB, Alabama; LaDainian Tomlinson, TB, TCU; and Wesley Walls, TE, Mississippi. In addition, two coaches will go with the 14 players in this year’s class, and they include Mike Bellotti and Jerry Moore.

“We are extremely proud to announce the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame Class,” said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Ole Miss. “Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments at the new Hall of Fame in Atlanta as an inspiration to future generations.”

He currently serves as a studio analyst for the NFL Network.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Follow Us on Social Media:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Telegram, Tumblr, YouTube, and TruthSocial

Keep Independent Journalism Alive! Ad-free experience and Exclusive Premium-plus content.

Join our Paid Substack for additional content for $10 per month. This is ad-free content. We believe that what you read matters and great writing is valuable. Through Substack, writers can flourish by being paid directly by their readers.

Report a Correction or Typo

© 2007-2024 The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcasted, rewritten, or redistributed.

Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher of The Capital Sports Report. He has been in the Journalism field since August 2002. Since that time, Mr. Caruso has covered many marquee events. This includes 13 Heisman Trophy ceremonies, 2 Little World Series events, and one Army-Navy College Football game.
Latest news
Related news