Saturday, June 15, 2024

2022 Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals Funny Car preview

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

The National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) kicks off their 2022 season this weekend at the Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals presented by Protect The Harvest. Funny Cars will be one of three professional classes participating in the event.

Ron Capps, who is the new owner of Ron Capps Motorsports, will look to defend his Wally from last July.

Ron Capps Motorsports driver Ron Capps showcases his new wrap for the 2022 NHRA season
Ron Capps showcases his new wrap for the 2022 NHRA season (Photo by Ron Capps/Instagram)

The Winternationals should have been known as the Summernationals last summer due to the heat. The 2021 Winternationals were pushed back to the coronavirus pandemic.

Capps will look to defend his Wally this weekend. Don Schumacher Racing has won the past two Winternationals Wallys.

However, this year, there are no DSR Funny Cars. Matt Hagan and Capps departed the team in the off-season.

Hagan is a part of the newly-formed Tony Stewart Racing Nitro teams. Capps and Hagan will be there with their new teams.

Jack Beckman, who won the 2020 event, and Tommy Johnson Jr. have been out of the sport since the 2020 season.

John Force Racing is the last non-DSR team to win the Winternationals. Robert Hight won the 2019 Winternationals.

He will return with his living legend teammate John Force to make another attempt at winning the Wally. Ford Motorcraft/Quick Lane sponsored Bob Tasca III will be competing for the Wally.

Snap-On Tools sponsored Cruz Pedregon will also be in attendance. ROKiT Phones sponsored Alexis DeJoria will be there with her team.

Levi, Ray, and Shoup Inc. sponsored Tim Wilkerson will also be attending. Jim Dunn Racing driver Jim Campbell will be there in his KGC-Blaze-DiPinto ride.

McLeod and FTI sponsored Paul Lee will also be in attendance. DHL-sponsored J.R. Todd will be in attendance.

The race will also have numerous part-time teams including Terry Haddock, Jeff Arend, Chad Green, Jeff Diehl, Jason Rupert, Gary Densham, Bobby Bode III, Tony Jurado, and Alex Miladinovich. Only the Top 16 teams will make eliminations on Sunday.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Follow Us on Social Media:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Telegram, Tumblr, and YouTube

Keep Independent Journalism Alive! Ad-free experience and Exclusive Premium-plus content.

Join our Paid Substack for additional content for $10 per month. This is ad-free content. We believe that what you read matters and great writing is valuable. Through Substack, writers can flourish by being paid directly by their readers.

Report a Correction or Typo

© 2007-2024 The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcasted, rewritten, or redistributed.

Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher of The Capital Sports Report. He has been in the Journalism field since August 2002. Since that time, Mr. Caruso has covered many marquee events. This includes 13 Heisman Trophy ceremonies, 2 Little World Series events, and one Army-Navy College Football game.
Latest news
Related news