Monday, May 20, 2024

Joe Burrow wins the 2019 Heisman Trophy Award

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

New York CityLSU has a new member of its Heisman Trophy class. After Saturday night’s announcement, they now have two Heisman Trophy winners in school history.

Joe Burrow won the prestigious Heisman Trophy in Times Square New York at the PlayStation Theatre. He joins the late Billy Cannon as the Heisman Trophy winner in school history.

LSU Tigers quarterback Joe Burrow is being interviewed by our Publisher Anthony Caruso III at the 2019 Heisman Trophy ceremony at the New York Marriott Marquis
Joe Burrow is being interviewed by our Publisher Anthony Caruso III at the 2019 Heisman Trophy ceremony at the New York Marriott Marquis (Photo by Nick Massa)

“It’s an honor to stand on the same stage as all of these guys,” said an emotional Burrow after hearing his name called. “I’m so thankful to have played for two of the best programs in the country. I wouldn’t have traded my journey for anything.”

READ MORE: Click here for our latest NCAAF coverage

Cannon won his Heisman Trophy 60 years ago this year. When he won the award, he won with 1,929 points and 53.72% of possible points.

Burrow got emotional when he was talking about head coach Ed Orgeron. The coach took a gamble on the quarterback after he had transferred from Ohio State following the 2017 season.

“You have no idea what you mean to my family,” Burrow said through tears. “You know I didn’t play for three years, and you took a chance on me, not knowing if I could play or not, and I am forever grateful for you.

“Can you imagine a guy like Coach O, giving me the keys to his football program? He just means so much to me and my family … and to LSU. I sure hope they give him a lifetime contract because he deserves it.”

He is the fourth straight quarterback to win the prestigious award given out on the second Saturday in December. The previous three were Lamar Jackson, Baker Mayfield, and Kyler Murray.

The last non-quarterback to win was running back Derrick Henry in 2015.

READ MORE: Click here for our latest Sports coverage

Burrow received 841 first-place votes. He also received 41 second-place votes and three third-place votes. He ran away with 2,608 total points.

“My journey, I wouldn’t have traded it for anything in the world,” Burrow said about his college football journey.

Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Jalen Hurts finished in second place with 762 points. Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields was third with 747 points.

Ohio State defensive end Chase Young was the fourth-place finisher with 643 points.

Burrow has gone 342 of 439 for 4,715 yards in his second and final season with the Tigers after previously playing for the Buckeyes. He also has 48 touchdown passes and six interceptions.

Fields — who transferred to Ohio State in the off-season after playing his freshman year with the Georgia Bulldogs — has gone 208 of 308 for 2,953 yards. He also has 40 touchdown passes and one interception.

Hurts — the fifth-year senior, who transferred into Oklahoma after playing his first three seasons with the Alabama Crimson Tide in the off-season — has gone 222 of 309 for 3,634 yards. He also had 32 touchdown passes and seven interceptions.

Young — who missed two games during the season after being suspended by the NCAA for receiving improper benefits — had 44 tackles, including 21.0 tackles for a loss, and 16.5 sacks. He also had seven forced fumbles and three pass deflections.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Follow Us on Social Media:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Telegram, Tumblr, YouTube, and TruthSocial

Keep Independent Journalism Alive! Ad-free experience and Exclusive Premium-plus content.

Join our Paid Substack for additional content for $10 per month. This is ad-free content. We believe that what you read matters and great writing is valuable. Through Substack, writers can flourish by being paid directly by their readers.

Report a Correction or Typo

© 2007-2024 The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcasted, rewritten, or redistributed.

Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher of The Capital Sports Report. He has been in the Journalism field since August 2002. Since that time, Mr. Caruso has covered many marquee events. This includes 13 Heisman Trophy ceremonies, 2 Little World Series events, and one Army-Navy College Football game.
Latest news
Related news