Saturday, April 13, 2024

Sesely wins 2023 TQ Midget Championship with Gamblers Classic win

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Anthony Sesely won Saturday night of the Gamblers Classic. He won the final day of the two-day event at the Jim Whelan Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

This is Sesely’s fourth Gamblers Classic win. The Matawan, New Jersey native won approximately an hour and a half away from where he grew up in Central New Jersey.

Race car driver Anthony Sesely celebrates his 2023 TQ Midget Championship after winning his fourth Gamblers Classic
Anthony Sesely celebrates his 2023 TQ Midget Championship after winning his fourth Gamblers Classic (Photo by the Indoor Auto Racing Championship/Facebook)

“This win is for the owners of these cars, Ricky Kluth and Jeff Ulrich,” Sesely said after getting the win. “The 27 car I won with is a tribute car for Ricky’s father and the 75 car I raced last night is a tribute car for Jeff’s dad.”

READ MORE: Click here for our latest Racing coverage

Before the race began, he bet on himself. Sesely started the feature from the ninth starting position. He turned a $500 bet from Bob Hilbert Sportswear for being in the last redraw position and turned it into a $1,000 for winning the feature.

One night prior, Sesely started the feature on Friday night from the 19th starting spot. Over the course of the 40 laps, he worked his way up to the third spot.

With the win, Sesely has won his second Indoor Auto Racing event this year, as he also won in Allentown, Pennsylvania in early January. He won the TQ Midget Championship and the TC Cup, which is named after former racer Ted Christopher.

The late Christopher passed away in a plane crash.

“Winning the TC Cup Trophy means so much to me,” Sesely said. “Teddy (Christopher) was a great competitor, but even more important, he was my friend.”

Andy Jankowiak, who won Friday night’s feature, finished second. He was 0.318 seconds behind Sesely.

Mike Christopher Jr. picked up his first podium finish, as he finished third. He was 0.696 seconds behind the winner.

NASCAR Team Penske crew member Ryan Flores and Nick Ladyga rounded out the Top 5. Flores finished fourth while Ladyga finished fifth.

Sesely was the only driver in the Top 3 to win a heat race earlier in the night. He won heat race No. 2.

READ MORE: Click here for our latest Sports coverage

The other TQ Midget heat race winners included Flores, who won heat race No. 1. Briggs Danner also won heat race No. 3.

Joey Bailey won heat race No. 4 and Ryan Barlett won heat race No. 5. Erick Rudolph won the final heat race, as he won heat race No. 6.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Follow Us on Social Media:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Telegram, Tumblr, YouTube, and TruthSocial

Keep Independent Journalism Alive! Ad-free experience and Exclusive Premium-plus content.

Join our Paid Substack for additional content for $10 per month. This is ad-free content. We believe that what you read matters and great writing is valuable. Through Substack, writers can flourish by being paid directly by their readers.

Report a Correction or Typo

© 2007-2024 The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcasted, rewritten, or redistributed.

Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher of The Capital Sports Report. He has been in the Journalism field since August 2002. Since that time, Mr. Caruso has covered many marquee events. This includes 13 Heisman Trophy ceremonies, 2 Little World Series events, and one Army-Navy College Football game.
Latest news
Related news