College Football Playoff

The College Football Playoff is a tournament that takes place at the end of the Division 1 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) college football season. This playoff, which is an invite-only tournament, determines the national champion each season.

Four teams are selected to play in two semifinal games at locations around the country. The winner of each semifinal game then advances to the College Football Playoff National Championship game.

College Football Playoff
College Football Playoff (Photo by the College Football Playoff)

The CFP began at the end of the 2014 season. The Ohio State Buckeyes won the first College Football Playoff National Championship game over the Oregon Ducks.

A 13-member committee selects the teams to take part in the College Football Playoff. This system replaced the old Bowl Championship Series (BCS) system.

The old BCS system was complicated, as it used polls and computer rankings to determine who played in the BCS National Championship game.

The CFP came about following controversies with the BCS system. The two semifinal games rotate between the Cotton Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, Orange Bowl, Peach Bowl, Rose Bowl, and the Sugar Bowl.

Like the Super Bowl, the CFP National Championship game venue is selected following bids from their host cities. The NCAA then reviews the bids and makes a decision on where the Championship games will be played.

The winner of the CFP National Championship game receives the College Football Playoff National Championship Trophy.

CFP Champions:
2014-15 – Ohio State Buckeyes
2015-16 – Alabama Crimson Tide
2016-17 – Clemson Tigers
2017-18 – Alabama Crimson Tide
2018-19 – Clemson Tide
2019-20 – LSU Tigers
2020-21 – Alabama Crimson Tide
2021-22 –

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Follow Us on Social Media:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Telegram, Tumblr, and YouTube

Keep Independent Journalism Alive! Ad-free experience and Exclusive Premium-plus content. Join our Paid Substack for additional content for $10 per month. This is ad-free content. We believe that what you read matters and great writing is valuable. Through Substack, writers can flourish by being paid directly by their readers.

Report a Correction or Typo

© 2007-2024 The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcasted, rewritten, or redistributed.