Monday, July 15, 2024

Finally! Power wins the Indianapolis 500

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

For the first time in his career, Will Power has won the Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana. Power led 59 laps in his Verizon-sponsored IndyCar for owner Roger Penske.

Power became the second Australian race car driver to win an event on Sunday. Daniel Ricciardo dominated the Monaco Grand Prix in Formula One.

IndyCar driver Will Power kisses the bricks after winning the prestigious Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Will Power kisses the bricks after winning the prestigious Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Photo by Getty Images)

“I was wondering if I would ever win it,” Power said, after pouring the traditional quart of cold milk over his head. “My career, I’ve had so many wins and poles. But everyone always talked about me not winning the 500. I just couldn’t quite imagine ever winning it — especially in front of a crowd like this.”

READ MORE: Click here for our latest Racing coverage.

He picked up 108 points for the win. Prior to Sunday, his best finish was second in 2015.

Power went a decade without winning before drinking the milk and kissing the bricks on this Memorial Day weekend. Ed Carpenter, who was on the pole for the race, finished second.

The Fuzzy’s Vodka sponsored and owner of Ed Carpenter Racing led 65 laps and picked up 92 points. The Indianapolis, Indiana native has only appeared in two races this season.

He finished seventh at Phoenix in the second race of the season. This was Carpenter’s best finish in his career at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

His previous best finish was fifth in 2008 when he was the Menards/Vision Racing driver for Tony George.

Scott Dixon was the third-place finisher. Power led 59 laps, while Ed Carpenter led 65.

ABC Supply Company IndyCar driver Tony Kanaan also led 19 laps. Grove by Manitowoc IndyCar driver Oriol Servià also led 16 laps.

United Rentals/Mi-Jack IndyCar driver Graham Rahal also led 12 laps. Paysafe IndyCar driver Zachary Claman De Melo also led 7 laps.

Ruoff Home Mortgage IndyCar driver Carlos Muñoz and SealMaster/Sport Clips IndyCar driver Sébastien Bourdais also led 4 laps. Verizon IndyCar driver Josef Newgarden, Preferred Freezer Service/Direct Supply IndyCar Spencer Pigot, and #Driven2SaveLives IndyCar driver Stefan Wilson led 3 laps.

READ MORE: Click here for our latest Sports coverage.

Lucas Oil IndyCar driver Robert Wickens also led 2 laps. Menards/Verizon IndyCar driver Simon Pagenaud, DHL IndyCar driver Ryan Hunter-Reay, and NAPA Auto Parts IndyCar driver Alexander Rossi also led 1 lap.

Nine of the 33 cars did not complete the race. Kanaan crashed on Lap 187 and finished 25th.

Wix Filters/Comfort Revolution IndyCar driver Sage Karam finished 26th after crashing on Lap 154. Pennzoil/Verizon IndyCar driver Hélio Castroneves finished 27th after being involved in a crash on Lap 145.

Bourdais finished 28th and was involved in a crash on Lap 137. NFP IndyCar driver Kyle Kaiser finished 29th and had to leave the race with mechanical problems on Lap 110.

GoDaddy IndyCar driver Danica Patrick ended her racing career on Lap 67 when she crashed and finished 30th. NTT Data IndyCar driver Ed Jones finished 31st and was involved in a crash on Lap 57.

“It just kind of swung around when I got back in the throttle,” Patrick said. “I wasn’t expecting it by any means. These cars are tough to drive. Definitely not a great ending. I kind of said before I came here that I feel like if it is a complete disaster — complete like as in I’m not in the ballpark at all and look silly, then people may remember that. And if I win, people will remember that. But probably anything in between might just be a little part of a bigger story. So I kind of feel like that’s how it is, you know.”

Mi-Jack/Panasonic IndyCar driver Takuma Sato finished 32nd and crashed on Lap 46. Jonathan Byrd’s 502 East IndyCar driver James Davison finished 33nd after being involved in a crash on Lap 45.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Follow Us on Social Media:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Telegram, Tumblr, and YouTube

Keep Independent Journalism Alive! Ad-free experience and Exclusive Premium-plus content.

Join our Paid Substack for additional content for $10 per month. This is ad-free content. We believe that what you read matters and great writing is valuable. Through Substack, writers can flourish by being paid directly by their readers.

Report a Correction or Typo

© 2007-2024 The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcasted, rewritten, or redistributed.

Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher of The Capital Sports Report. He has been in the Journalism field since August 2002. Since that time, Mr. Caruso has covered many marquee events. This includes 13 Heisman Trophy ceremonies, 2 Little World Series events, and one Army-Navy College Football game.
Latest news
Related news