Tigers destroy Crimson Tide in 2019 CFP National Championship

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

The No. 2 Clemson Tigers dismantled the No. 1 Alabama Crimson Tide on Monday night. The Tigers won 44-16 over the Crimson Tide at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California.

The Tigers became the first team in the modern era to go 15-0. They are the first team to go 15-0 since the 1897 Penn Quakers, who also went 15-0.

Clemson Tigers quarterback Trevor Lawrence holds the College Football Playoff National Championship Trophy after the Tigers defeated the Alabama Crimson Tide
Trevor Lawrence holds the College Football Playoff National Championship Trophy after the Tigers defeated the Alabama Crimson Tide (Photo by Trevor Lawrence/Instagram)

Clemson has now won their second College Football Playoff National Championship in the past three seasons.

In addition, they are the first undefeated champion in the modern era.

The Crimson Tide suffered its first loss of the season. In addition, this loss snapped their 16-game win streak.

Alabama went more than one-year between losses, as they were defeated by then-No. 6 Auburn Tigers, 26-14, on November 25th, 2017.

This is the worst loss under head coach Nick Saban at Alabama.

Tigers quarterback Trevor Lawrence went 20 of 32 for 347 yards. He also had three touchdowns.

Travis Etienne had 14 carries for 86 yards and two touchdowns. Lawrence had six carries for 27 yards.

Justyn Ross had six receptions for 153 yards and a touchdown. Tee Higgins had three receptions for 81 yards and a touchdown. Amari Rodgers had two receptions for 30 yards. Etienne had a five-yard touchdown reception.

Crimson Tide quarterback Tua Tagovailoa went 22 of 34 for 295 yards. He had two touchdowns and two interceptions.

Najee Harris had nine carries for 59 yards. Damien Harris had 11 carries for 57 yards. Josh Jacobs had 11 carries for 47 yards.

Jerry Jeudy had five receptions for 139 yards and a touchdown. DeVonta Smith had six receptions for 65 yards. Irv Smith Jr. had four receptions for 43 yards. Hale Hentges had a one-yard touchdown reception.

Clemson scored 13 points in the second half. Lawrence hit Ross for a 74-yard touchdown. Following this touchdown, Greg Huegel missed the PAT.

Lawrence hit Higgins for a five-yard touchdown.

The Tigers led 31-16 at halftime. A.J. Terrell scored on a 44-yard interception return for a touchdown.

Etienne scored on a 17-yard rushing touchdown. Etienne also scored on a one-yard rushing touchdown.

Lawrence also hit Etienne for a five-yard touchdown reception. Huegel made a 36-yard field goal.

Crimson Tide’s Tagovailoa hit Jeudy for a 62-yard touchdown reception. Tagovailoa hit Hentges for a one-yard touchdown reception. Following this touchdown, Joseph Bulovas missed the PAT.

Bulovas made a 25-yard field goal.

Report a Typo or Correction

Copyright © 2007-2019. The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved.

All information contained in this Digital Publication are copyright by The Capital Sports Report, and may not be duplicated, copied, modified or adapted, in any way without our written permission. Your use of our work does not constitute any right or license for you to use our trademarks, without the prior written permission of The Capital Sports Report.

Our Content, as found within our Website, is protected under United States and foreign copyrights laws. The copying, redistribution, or use of our publication by you of any such Content, is strictly prohibited. Your use of our Website does not grant you any ownership rights to our Content.

The Capital Sports Report and its logo are official trademarks of Anthony Caruso III and Anthony Caruso Enterprises.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.