Monday, July 15, 2024

Jayden Daniels wins LSU’s third Heisman Trophy

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

New York City — It took 50 years for the Louisiana State University Tigers Football team to get their second Heisman Trophy. Then, it took just four years for the program to get their third.

Tigers quarterback Jayden Daniels won the prestigious award on Saturday night at the Lincoln Center in New York City.

Louisiana State University Tigers quarterback Jayden Daniels kisses the prestigious Heisman Trophy after winning the award
Jayden Daniels kisses the prestigious Heisman Trophy after winning the award (Photo by Adonis Page/The Capital Sports Report)

“Being a college athlete and winning this award has been a dream come true. I want to dedicate this award to every boy and girl who has a dream or faith, with hard work you never know what’s possible,” Daniels said in his acceptance speech. “They said I was too skinny, so I had to wait. Then they said I relied on my legs a little bit too much, so I went to work, completed all those passes, (and) had the season I had. They said I was too quiet, so I became more vocal. I stepped out of my comfort zone and now I’m here today.

READ MORE: Click here for our latest NCAAF coverage

“So what did I learn from all this? I learned how to block out the noise, that you can overcome any obstacle, and just be humble, be legendary, and most importantly, you know be joyful about what you do. And when you get knocked down, get back up, keep smiling, and never give up on your dreams.”

Daniels is the second Tigers quarterback to win the award. Joe Burrow was the first to do it in December 2019.

There are just three Tigers players to win the prestigious award. Running back Billy Cannon was the first in program history to win the award in 1959.

On the season, he went 236 of 327 for 3,812 yards. He also had 40 touchdown passes and four interceptions.

Plus, Daniels also had 135 carries for 1,134 yards and 10 additional touchdowns.

“I want to thank all my teammates, from Arizona State to LSU,” Daniels said. “You’re my brothers. You work so hard every day, inspiring me to be my best.”

READ MORE: Click here for our latest Sports coverage

Daniels may not add to these statistics as he was noncommittal on the team’s upcoming Bowl game. The Tigers play the Wisconsin Badgers in the ReliaQuest Bowl on January 1st, 2024, at noon EST at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida.

It was the closest vote since 2018. Daniels received 2,029 points. Second-place finisher Michael Penix Jr., the Washington Huskies quarterback, who received the only fan vote, had 1,701 points.

The difference was 328 points.

In 2018, former Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Kyler Murray defeated former Alabama Crimson Tide quarterback Tua Tagovailoa for the award. Murray had 2,167 points.

Tagovailoa had 1,871 points. The difference between Murray and Tagovailoa was 296 points.

Penix Jr., who has guided his team to an unbeaten season, has gone 307 of 466 for 4,218 yards. He had 33 touchdown passes and nine interceptions.

Oregon Ducks quarterback Bo Nix finished third. He received 885 points.

Nix has gone 336 of 435 for 4,145 yards. He had 40 touchdown passes and three interceptions.

He also had 53 carries for 228 yards and six additional touchdowns.

Ohio State Buckeyes wide receiver Marvin Harrison Jr. was the fourth-place finisher. The son of the Pro Football Hall of Famer Marvin Harrison received 352 points.

Harrison Jr., who is noncommittal on what his plans are whether it is off to the NFL or another year in college football, had 67 receptions for 1,211 yards and 14 touchdowns.

He also had two carries for 26 yards and a touchdown.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Follow Us on Social Media:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Telegram, Tumblr, YouTube, and TruthSocial

Keep Independent Journalism Alive! Ad-free experience and Exclusive Premium-plus content.

Join our Paid Substack for additional content for $10 per month. This is ad-free content. We believe that what you read matters and great writing is valuable. Through Substack, writers can flourish by being paid directly by their readers.

Report a Correction or Typo

© 2007-2024 The Capital Sports Report. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcasted, rewritten, or redistributed.

Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III
Anthony Caruso III is the Publisher of The Capital Sports Report. He has been in the Journalism field since August 2002. Since that time, Mr. Caruso has covered many marquee events. This includes 13 Heisman Trophy ceremonies, 2 Little World Series events, and one Army-Navy College Football game.
Latest news
Related news